Meg Medina Wins Newbery Medal and Sophie Blackall Is Awarded Her Second Caldecott

Meg Medina gained this yr’s John Newbery Medal for probably the most excellent contribution to youngsters’s literature for her novel “Merci Suarez Changes Gears,” the story of an 11-year-old woman who navigates her house life with a Cuban-American prolonged household and her experiences as a scholarship scholar at a non-public college. Medina is the second Latinx author to win the award — Matt de la Pena gained in 2016 for the image guide “Last Stop on Market Street,” illustrated by Christian Robinson — and the primary to win for a novel.

Sophie Blackall gained the Randolph Caldecott Medal, which is awarded to an illustrator for the yr’s most distinguished American image guide, for “Hello, Lighthouse,” a chronicle of working and residing in a distant lighthouse that pays tribute to the troublesome job lighthouse keepers carried out for hundreds of years. Blackall, who additionally gained the award in 2016 for “Finding Winnie: The True Story of the World’s Most Famous Bear,” turns into the ninth illustrator to win the award a number of instances because it was first given in 1938.

The Newbery and the Caldecott awards are probably the most anticipated of the annual prizes given out by the American Library Association for younger grownup and youngsters’s literature. They had been introduced Monday on the affiliation’s midwinter convention in Seattle. Considered among the many most prestigious prizes given for youngsters’s literature, the awards are identified to drive gross sales and spur librarian and instructor suggestions.

“The Poet X,” written by Elizabeth Acevedo, took the Michael L. Printz Award for excellence in literature written for young adults. The novel in verse, about a Dominican-American girl living in Harlem who finds her voice through slam poetry, was also the winner of the 2018 National Book Award for Young People’s Literature.

At Monday’s awards, “The Poet X” also won the Pura Belpre Author Award honoring a Latinx writer whose children’s books best portray, affirm and celebrate the Latinx cultural experience. The Pura Belpre Illustrator Award went to Yuyi Morales for “Dreamers,” her picture book recounting the journey she took with her young son as an immigant from Mexico.

The Coretta Scott King Book Awards, recognizing outstanding African-American authors and illustrators, went to the author Claire Hatfield for “A Few Red Drops: The Chicago Race Riot of 1919,” and the illustrator Ekua Holmes for “The Stuff of Stars,” written by Marion Dane Bauer.

The Theodor Seuss Geisel Award for the most distinguished beginning reader book went to “Fox the Tiger,” written and illustrated by Corey R. Tabor.

The young adult author Walter Dean Myers, who died in 2014, was honored with the Children’s Literature Legacy Award, given to an author or illustrator whose books have made a significant and lasting contribution to children’s literature. Previously called the Laura Ingalls Wilder Award, the prize was renamed last June in recognition of the racial insensitivity in Wilder’s work.

Source link

Get more stuff like this

Subscribe to our mailing list and get interesting stuff and updates to your email inbox.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Get more stuff like this
in your inbox

Subscribe to our mailing list and get interesting stuff and updates to your email inbox.